What is Your Mission

Standard

john-child-fishingMatt. 4:19 And He *said to them, “Follow Me, and I will make you fishers of men.”

John 15:8 “My Father is glorified by this, that you bear much fruit, and so prove to be My disciples.

Do you ever sense that you were made to matter, to make a difference, for some ultimate purpose? God did in fact make you for a purpose. You have a destiny that touches eternity. But it is so marred by darkness that only Jesus can reclaim it for you. This weekend we are going to pull the “Follow Me” series together. Everything we have studied in this series has an ultimate purpose.

Those who followed Jesus first needed to know the purpose of following. What was the end game, the point? They needed focus & purpose for their lives that came from Jesus. It wasn’t just about what they got. It wasn’t just about how they felt or where they ended up. What did Jesus say were they supposed to do, to live for?

God so loves the world that he sent His son that whoever believes in in would have eternal life. Because God still loves, God continues to send followers of Jesus into the world to help others come out of their darkness to His light. This is the bottom line core of His heart. He does all of this because He wants people to come out of the darkness of sin into the light of his truth & grace.

Jesus had a mission that he wants His followers to embrace. Just how we do that can get lost in the pressures of life. Jesus calls his followers to learn from Him so that they will become like Him and ultimately embrace His mission as their own. Jesus clarified that as they learned from him. They would become like Him and take up His mission as their own. This applies to followers today as well!

Because God still loves, God continues to send followers of Jesus into the world to help others come out of their darkness to His light

It is time to fish for men. It is time to lay aside all that has entangled, distracted and held me back. Christ is in me, He is enough for me. Time is ticking away. Darkness is here. I must boldly & graciously turn up the wattage of his light in me & through me. I must embrace His mission as my own.

Do you follow Jesus? Have you embraced His mission? What does that look like? Join us this weekend as we study what Jesus says about how we begin to embrace His mission. I look forward to seeing you Sunday.

John 15:16 You did not choose Me but I chose you, and appointed you that you would go and bear fruit, and that your fruit would remain…

