Where Do We Start?

Standard

follow-me-shoesJohn 10:27-28 27 My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me; 28 and I give eternal life to them, and they will never perish; and no one will snatch them out of My hand.

I started playing piano officially around age 5. My mom was my first teacher. Later in elementary school she found another teacher for us. This teacher gave each lesson a grade and had her students compete with each other as well as other outside students. Even better. That was a big motivation or me. As I go older and the world got bigger I realized there was one teacher and his best local protégé whose students always won the bigger competitions. So when I got a chance to switch, I was really eager. She didn’t take very many students, so it was a real honor. I remember she interviewed me. What do I like about piano. What do I hope to do with it. What are my current practice habits? The seriousness of this step was rising to a new level.

You must trust me. You must take practice seriously by doing only what I show you, how I show you.

Mrs. Lawler, gently but clearly laid out her expectations and how we would begin. You have great musicality and potential she said, but your technic needs work. That is where we will start. If you become my student, I will fix your technic and prepare you for a northeastern conservatory. BUT, you will not enter any competition for 6 months, we will only work on technical exercises and Bach. You must trust me. You must take practice seriously by doing only what I show you, how I show you.

It was important to her that we started out well. That I understood what it would mean to become her student. That I made this decision knowing what it would mean. I was so eager to become one of her students, I agreed to everything. I had come to a place of initial trust that her teaching was the answer to my musical progress. I took her teaching seriously.

She became a great and godly influence on my life. She not only taught me piano but taught me to really follow Jesus more fully. Now ask yourself this: How do we get started following Jesus? What does it mean? What does it look like?

This week we will dig in on Matthew 1:28-30. In this foundation invitation of Jesus to follow Him, we will discover all we need to know to start well. He is serious but gentle. He expects that we embrace His direction, but for those who do, he delivers the greatest thing in the world… SOUL DEEP REST.

I invite you to reflect on this passage over the weekend and join us Sunday as we consider four crucial facets of what it looks like be begin following Jesus.

Matthew 11:28-30 “Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

 

