Holy Surrender

Standard

reaching for God1Corinthians 15:58 Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your toil is not in vain in the Lord.

Several of you asked about the “letter to Jesus” that I shared in the message last week. I have posted it below for any who are interested. In our spiritual journey, I have discovered that the Lord brings us repeatedly to moments of surrender for our own growth and strength in Him. Each involves the recognition of self-centered false gods we have embraced or created. When the time comes, with gentler firmness our Lord will ask you to lay them down. I have experienced this many times. I never regret this refining work that He brings. I hope that this small example from my own life will encourage you to cooperate with Him when He asks for deeper surrender from you. For my part, I have found that surrender is the only way forward.

Dear Jesus,

My life & service is in your hands. I am glad to serve where you ask in the ways you ask. I surrender my need to be right, be respected or followed at any time. I surrender my desire to achieve, win and be recognized as effective, knowledgable, successful or even competent. I surrender my desire to get my way and be in charge. I surrender selfish desire for greater growth, prominence and impact for the purpose of receiving praise that is due You alone.

I am ready to resign or stay at your command in your time. I commit to following you more deeply and prioritizing what you are making of me over what I was making in this world. I will seek to love and serve you by loving and serving your people as you lead without regard for their response to me, to each other or even to You.

Please keep me in the place of holy surrender as long as I have breath in the life.

Your servant,

john shields

This week we move in 1Corinthians chapter 16 to begin wrapping the book up. In July we will begin a new series exploring several intimate encounters people had with Jesus to learn more about His heart and ways with us.

Hope to see you in worship this weekend!

